Wizkid stole ojuelegba from me- Blackface

image


Veteran dancehall act and a former
member of the defunct Afro-pop singing
trio, Plantashun Boyz, Blackface, has
called on fellow musician, Wizkid, to “stop
stealing” his songs.
Blackface who spoke exclusively to
Saturday Beats , said Wizkid had been
copying many of his songs for a long
time…
“I never really wanted to talk about it all
this while but after people started
checking out my new song, Killa, many
felt Blackface sounded like Wizkid, which
I didn’t like.
“If you check properly, you would realise
that Wizkid’s hit, Ojuelegba, sounds
exactly the same as the track 13 on my
dancehall album released as far back as
2010.
You need to listen to that album to know
what I am talking about. The song is so
similar that I think it shouldn’t be that
way.
“Well, in Killa, I sang that “they tried to
copy my melody,” and the bloggers got a
hint of the gist and put their reports out.
What I said is the truth and I am going to
get to the root of this matter because I
deserve justice.
“The Ojuelegba song has made so much
revenue for Wizkid. I am not bothered
about that but I want the industry to be in
a position whereby people will
understand that some of the artistes and
the songs they are cheering is someone
else’s efforts, especially fellow artistes
that they are doing everything to bring
down. All they are doing is to bring down
Blackface and to say that he is not
relevant in the industry. Some people are
bent on killing my legacy. I believe there
is definitely a gang-up against me in the
industry and this has been going on for a
long time,” he said.
Asked if he had taken on Wizkid
personally on the matter, the dancehall
artiste said he did his best in that regard
but that the response from the Star Boy
act shocked him.
“There was a time Wizkid followed me on
twitter and I told him that I don’t want
him taking my songs and that if he wants
to do any of my rhythm, he should let me
know. I told him that because I was just
being a big brother to him. I told him that
our songs can’t be sounding so similar
and that if he wants anything, he should
let me know. But after some time, he
‘unfollowed’ me and it was shortly after
then that the Ojuelegba song was
released. I don’t have any problem with
Wizkid or any other person, all I am
saying is that they shouldn’t be tampering
with my songs because those are my
properties.
“Wizkid and I do different kinds of music
and he doesn’t have my type of skill. I
don’t have a problem with that. I am only
bothered when somebody takes my song
and tries to turn it around into theirs
without giving me due credit,” he said.
Efforts to reach Wizkid to react to
Blackface’s claims proved abortive as his
phone numbers were switched off. His
manager, Sunday Are, couldn’t be
reached as his line was switched off as
well.

Posted on January 23, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

